List of GOP senators who promised not to confirm a Supreme Court justice in an election year

Sen. Roy Blunt (R-MO)

Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC)

Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX)

Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX)

Sen. Joni Ernst (R-IA)

Sen. Cory Gardner (R-CO)

Sen. Lindsay Graham (R-SC)

Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-IA)

Sen. John Hoeven (R-ND)

Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-OK)

Sen. Ron Johnson (R-WI)

Sen. David Perdue (R-GA)

Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH)

Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL)

Sen. Tim Scott (R-SC)

Sen. Thom Tillis (R-NC)

Sen. Pat Toomey (R-PA)

Read details here. Of course, “promises are made to be broken,” and who believes politicians (especially Republican politicians) ever keep their promises? But if a new Supreme Court justice is confirmed before January 20, 2021, every one of these GOP senators (several may be ex-senators by then) will henceforth wear the title “lying hypocrite.”

Return to The-Ave.US Home Page

0 Comments Add Yours ↓

  1. Mark Adams #

    Of course these promises might really have had the additional requirement of when the guy in the White House is of the other party. This is a norm for when there is divided government in an election year for either party. President has own party in power…it is a go baby. If the President is not of the party who controls the Senate not since 1888, and that time is very much an outlier.

    Could their comments been taken out of context, very likely.
    And Joe Biden has comments that show he would fully expect a President with his party in control of the Senate to proceed tp a vote of the floor of the Senate.